Her First Breath, My First Breath

BW.jpg

I recently read a post about how the writer did not want her child to turn out like her, and it inspired me.  So I have decided to write my own version.  I know, not original, but when inspiration hits you go with it.

I want to start by talking about what my daughter has done to me as a person.

My daughter has made me happier than I have ever been.  I have a history of depression and anxiety with more than my fair share of highs and lows.  About 6 years ago my husband made me the happiest I had ever been.  When he came along my lows officially became a thing of the past.  Don’t get me wrong, every relationship has its low moments, but he brought out a side of me that I had never seen.  He helped me to see everything that I wanted to be and pushed me to be that person.

Then our daughter was born.

The second the doctor laid her on my chest and she took her first breath, I felt like I was also taking my first breath.  She let out that first cry and all of a sudden everything made sense.  The person that I use to be no longer mattered.  That 8lb little girl is everything that I didn’t know I needed in this life.

In the 6 months that she has been on this earth I have noticed a drastic change in myself.  Little things that use to make me mad no longer matter.  She is my definition of happy.  She has touched my heart in ways that I never thought possible.  She has also made me fall even more in love with my husband when I didn’t even think that was possible.

So with all of that being said, I have to say that I don’t want my daughter to be like the me that I was before her.  I want her to be like the person that she has turned me into.

I know I don’t have complete control over who she becomes, but I will do whatever I can to prepare her for the curve balls that life may throw at her.

I want her to be happy, have a kind heart, a gentle soul, a free spirit, and just the right amount of selflessness.

I want to teach her to always lend a helping hand and see the kindness in everyone, but don’t let anyone treat her as less than she deserves.

I want her to be everything that she wants to be and more.  I want her to be as happy as she has made me.

That’s it.  I’m not going to type out a long list of every little thing I want her to do or be.  I am still learning who she is and so is she.  I just want to sit back and enjoy every fleeting moment with her before the moment passes.

Leave a Reply

