How To Make Your Oven Look New Again

Click HERE to follow me on Instagram!

In this weeks post I am going to walk you through how to clean the junk off of your racks and remove the goo from your oven door.

oven.jpg

So lets start with your oven racks since they take the longest.

How To Clean Your Oven Racks

Cleaning the baked on junk off of your oven racks can be almost impossible in your kitchen sink. Unless you have a huge kitchen sink.  So here is how you clean your oven racks using your bath tub.

  • Place your oven racks in the bottom of the tub and fill the tub with hot water until the racks are covered.
    20160103_111921
  • While your tub is filling, add ½ cup of dish soap.
  • Once the tub is full, lay 6-8 dryer sheets on top of the water.
    20160103_112222
  • Let soak for 6-8 hours or overnight.
  • After soaking, use the dryer sheets in the tub to wipe off the residue.

While your oven racks are soaking……..

 How To Clean Your Oven Door

When we moved into our home in 2013 we were blessed to have 3 brand new major kitchen appliances included with the house. We have a beautiful stainless steel stove, dishwasher and refrigerator.  Well…they are beautiful until you learn how aggravating stainless steel can be.

Just because it says smudge proof, doesn’t mean it actually is.

Once I got past the smudging and a few minor, but annoying issues with the dishwasher, I was left with the annoyance of the dirty oven door.

I thoroughly cleaned the oven, but could not figure out how it was dirty between the glass of the door and the inside of the oven.

I was raised in a family full of “handy-men.” So of course my instinct when I see a problem and I see screws, I get a screw driver and start taking things apart.

So here is how you clean between the glass on your oven door.

  •  First you want to clean the outside of the door, which can be done with glass cleaner.
  • Next you want to clean the door on the inside of the oven. All of this residue will be baked on so glass cleaner is not going to cut it.
    20160103_112530
  • I put a little bit of dish soap on the door, and then sprinkled on baking soda.
    20160103_112622
  • Next I soaked a couple of towels in hot water and laid it on top of the baking soda. Let it sit for about 15 minutes.
    20160103_112739
  • After it soaks, take your towels and start scrubbing.
  • For those REALLY baked on spots I took a scrapper and very gently scrapped them off so I wouldn’t scratch the glass.
  • I then wiped it clean.
    20160103_122949

Now for the fun part!

  • With your oven door open, unscrew the top 2 screws on the inside of the door.
    20160103_123004
  • You now have access to the junk in between the glass. Depending on how bad it is you can either clean it with glass cleaner or scrub it with baking soda and a damp towel. Of course my oven had this extra piece of glass that I had to remove….and a bit of residue that required the use of my scrapper.
  • Once everything is clean to your liking, just replace all of the screws and voila!!
    20160103_125438
  • After I do this I run a self-cleaning cycle to get the rest of the gunk inside of my oven.

Once the racks are clean your oven will look like new again!

logoDon’t forget to subscribe by entering your email to the right –>

 

Leave a Reply

