How To Acheive The Bokeh Photography Effect

Click HERE to follow me on Instagram!

I have been spending a lot of time getting reacquainted with my camera and I fell in love with Bokeh photography (Pronounced Boh-kay). Bokeh is when the background of a photo is blurred.

bokeh.jpg

Upon learning how to achieve bokeh, I just had to do the popular Christmas tree bokeh photo. So of course, I used my furbaby as my focal point.

You would think that you would need the entire room to be dark with the exception of the Christmas lights to achieve this effect, but that is not the case.

Don’t get me wrong, you can still achieve bokeh in a dark room.

Here is what happens when you take your photo in a dark room with no flash:

 DSC_0024.jpg

It still wasn’t as crisp as I wanted it to be.

So I gave it another go during the day light.

DSC_0052.jpg

I let the natural light shine through our closed blinds, turned on the lights of the tree, and convinced my furbaby to pose for me.

To achieve the proper bokeh effect your focal point needs to be about 6 feet from the lights in the background.

I used my 50mm f/1.8 Nikkor prime lens.

I put my Nikon D5200 in Manual Mode and used the following settings:

f/1.8
Shutter: 1/20
ISO: 400

Here is what it will look like with a flash

DSC_0044.jpg

And without

DSC_0043.jpg

logoDon’t forget to subscribe by entering your email to the right –>

Leave a Reply

