It’s Thyme To Get Control of Your Acne

Follow Me on Instagram!

Toner

This post is a little difficult for me to write.  This is my first post about acne, something I take a little personally and something that has impacted my confidence and self esteem.

I have always been envious of people with perfect skin.  Throughout my teen years I had episodes of horrible breakouts and episodes where something worked.  It has been a 15 year roller coaster.

I have been on countless prescriptions, tried thousands of dollars in makeup and every face wash on the shelf.  Proactive worked for a while…then it didn’t….then it did….then it didn’t.

Then I hit my late 20s and the dreaded adult hormonal acne started.

My husband has seen me try every homemade, all natural concoction.  He has seen me cry out of frustration and he has stayed home with me on weekends where I was too embarrassed to show my face in public.

Through it all he has continued to tell me that I am the most beautiful girl in the world….and then reminded me that $100 on makeup in one trip to Ulta is ridiculous.

I have done hours of research just so I can find relief.

I have hypothyroidism, oily skin and hormonal acne.

I eat a healthy diet, take daily supplements, exercise regularly, and have a consistent skin care regimen.

I change my pillow case every 3 days and clean my makeup brushes weekly.

All of this and it still wasn’t enough….

…..more research……

I then discovered the truth about dairy.

It completely screws with your hormones and causes inflammation.  So I conducted an experiment.

No Dairy for 10 days.

Things got better.  Then I ate pizza….my favorite.  1-2 days later and I was kicking myself in the ass.

I also discovered the truth about Biotin and B vitamins.  Biotin is supposed to be good for your hair, skin and nails.  But it also causes cystic/hormonal acne…..great.  ugh!

So I stopped taking a multivitamin and resulted to taking only the vitamins I needed.

 Then I came across an article about Thyme and its effects on acne, read it here.

And decided to make my own Thyme Toner.

1 Tablespoon of Thyme
3 Tablespoons of Witch Hazel

Place in a sealed container and let it steep for 2-3 days then strain to remove Thyme.

Apply with cotton ball after cleansing.

 So here is my new lifestyle for clear skin:

  • No dairy
  • Clean Diet
  • Exercise 3-5 times a week
  • Wash Face twice a day with a Benzoyl Peroxide cleanser (scrub at night, cream cleanser in AM)
  • Use Thyme Toner twice a day after cleansing
  • Ice Cube Facial in the morning
  • Gel Moisturizer (such as Clinique or Clean & Clear)
  • Makeup (non comedogenic only!)
  • Set Makeup with Mario Badescu Rosewater & Aloe Spray
  • Change pillow case and hand towel (for washing face at sink) every 3 days.
  • Clean Makeup brushes weekly.
  • NO Biotin or B Vitamins.
  • 100oz of water a day.
  • Do not touch your face!

I am definitely seeing major improvement. So far the toner is helping my oiliness and helps to prevent breakouts. The Thyme Toner in addition to my diet and supplement changes has helped me to become more comfortable with my appearance.

What has worked for you or not worked for you?  Is any of the above information helpful to you?

logo

Don’t forget to subscribe by entering your email address on the right!

Leave a Reply

