Crockpot Chicken – 1-2-3 Easy Recipe

imageAre you looking for an easy crockpot meal that is also low carb and gluten free?  Crockpot recipes are my favorite!  I can start the crock in the morning, go to work, come home and dinner is already half way done.

I had never cooked an actual whole chicken before doing this.  While grocery shopping recently I noticed that a whole chicken was a lot cheaper than buying chicken breasts.  I also have decided recently to try and buy hormone free/antibiotic free meat.  So of course, the whole chicken at my local grocery store met this criteria, but the breasts did not.  So I figured, why not give it a try?  I know what you are thinking, “a WHOLE chicken?”  Hold that thought…for 1 reason. Leftovers.

Ok, lets get down to business.

Ingredients:
Whole chicken
Marinade (any kind, italian dressing, beer, teriyaki, etc.)
Seasoning (anything that sounds good to you)

I used the a Hawaiian marinade with Grill Mates Blue Moon Belgian White Ale seasoning.  I’m looking forward to trying Mesquite marinade with a Caribbean Jerk seasoning.

imageInstructions:

  • Remove the innards of the chicken.  I know some people find this very gross, so I’ll give you a tip.  Just turn the chicken up with legs down, spread the legs and shake until they fall out.  (If your mind is in the gutter on the way that I just worded that, then join the club. LOL)
  • Place the chicken in your crockpot.
  • Sprinkle on seasoning.
  • Pour in entire bottle of marinade around the chicken.
  • Cover and cook for 7-8hrs on low.

The only downfall to cooking a whole chicken is the bones.  But I figure the taste and ease of this recipe outweighs a few bones.  If you are like my husband and I and you feed your dog table scraps from time to time, remember to check for bones first.  The first time I made this I shared my left overs with my four-legged fur baby and completely shredded the chicken to make sure he wouldn’t choke on a hidden bone.  The left overs go great in chicken salad, taco bowls, or with BBQ for pulled chicken.

wpid-wp-1433386958951.jpeg

Don’t forget subscribe/follow!
Instagram: @wonderfullyeccentric
Facebook: Wonderfully Eccentric
Twitter: Eccentric_Woman

Leave a Reply

