Creative Bridal Shower Games & Gifts

I had the pleasure of being in charge of invitation design and games for my soon to be sister-in-law’s bridal shower. This was the first bridal shower that I have had the opportunity to have a hand in the planning.  I must admit that I enjoyed developing the games and getting back into graphic design for a brief moment. So today I am going to share with you two of the games that we played and the creative gift that I put together for her.

image

The first game is called “Him or Her”

gameI asked the happy couple to come up with about 10-20 things that people would have to guess if it was Him or Her. The items included who said I love you first, who worked at specific locations, who hates certain foods, etc. I put all of these items on a print out with a mustache and lips icon next to each one so the guests could circle their answers. I then put my crafting skills to use and created props for the bride-to-be of a mustache and lips so when we went over the answers she could hold up the correct one for everyone to see. The guest with the most correct wins! The guests really enjoyed this game. Also, since this bridal shower was for the Groom’s side of the family her new family got to learn a few things about her that they did not know.

The other game I will be sharing today is one that the bride-to-be asked if we could play. We decided to call it the “Apron Game”

20150517_184537-1-1

I bought an apron and found 15 completly random items to pin to it. As you can see there is absolutely no theme whatsoever.

She left the room, put on the apron, did a semi-quick walk through so everyone could see and then exited the room. The guests then had to write down as many items as they could remember. The guest with the most wins! There were quite a few chuckles in regards to a few of the items.

We also played my personal favorite shower game that has become quite common, the “Purse Game.” This game is simple. Take the bride-to-be’s purse and empty it out. Whichever guest has the most items in common with what is in their purse wins. This is my favorite game because my purse is enormous and I’m a big of a slacker when it comes to cleaning it out.

Now on to the creative gift! I love these so I always try to do them when given the opportunity. I of course found the idea on Pinterest and then came up with items to go inside.

I bought a cooler and attached a tag “Marriage is a Picnic”

DSC_0012DSC_0011Here are the items that were inside.

DSC_0013“Get wrapped up in each other.”

DSC_0014“When life gives you lemons, make lemonade.”

DSC_0015“Don’t let your love go stale.”

DSC_0016“Be patient and let your love grow.”

DSC_0017“Keep your cool”

DSC_0018“Live in the warmth of each others heart.”

DSC_0019“Keep the bugs out.”

DSC_0020“Be the light of each others life.”

DSC_0021“In the event of a bad day, you might need this.” (In the bag are 2 wine glasses)

Creative gifts are always a crowd pleaser and sometimes people take the idea and pass it on at future showers they attend.

Another one that I have done as a gift at a previous shower (years ago) was a poem with cleaning products and it is great for couples that are just getting started in a new home.

In case anyone wants to know the poem that I used:

As we gather with you to celebrate the DAWN of a new era. Marriage is a journey.

Some days will be filled with pure JOY, but let’s take a moment to talk about the others.

There may come a time when you realize your big BRAWNY guy isn’t necessarily
MR. CLEAN.

 When this and other little glitches occur, don’t SHOUT or send up an SOS.
Go EASY on him.

 Hopefully the TIDE will change quickly, just DIAL back the anger and things will BOUNCE back to normal.

 We think you and _______ are a FANTASTIK couple with a ZEST for life and a sincere appreciation for each other.

We fully support you as you and ________PLEDGE to spend your lives as one.

We wish you all the best including love, happiness, lots of SQUEEGEES and time to SNUGGLE.

HUGS & KISSES, (hersey’s candy)

(signature)

I have also seen the poems to go with candles and wine, but have never used those in the many showers I have attended. Wine can get expensive and not everyone is a fan of candles so I always lean toward the more practical gifts.

DSC_0025-2flowers3filter

Here are a few pictures of the most adorable center pieces.  The bride-to-be’s Aunts came up with this great idea.  They also had an ice cream sundae bar instead of cake that was absolutely delicious.

flowers3-1

flowers4flowers5

wpid-wp-1433386958951.jpeg

Don’t forget to subscribe/follow!

IG: @wonderfullyeccentric

Facebook: Wonderfullyeccentric

Twitter: Eccentric_Woman

Leave a Reply

