Cheddar & Sausage Beer Soup with Soft Pretzels – Low Carb/Gluten Free

 DSC_1029 copy

Gluten Free & Low Carb Soft Pretzels

Yield: 4 soft pretzels

1.5 cups Almond Flour
1/2 tsp salt
1 Tbs butter melted
3 Tbs Coconut Flour
1 tsp water
Pretzel Salt (I used regular salt, because I did not have pretzel salt)
3 eggs

Directions:

  • Mix almond flour, salt and melted butter together and mix well.
  • Beat 2 eggs and add to almond flour mixture.
  • Add coconut flour and mix. Your dough should be easy to knead, you can add more coconut flour if you need to.
  • Cover a cookie sheet with parchment paper and divide the dough into 4.
  • Take a ¼ of the dough and roll it into a long skinny piece about a foot long then twist into the shape of a pretzel. Do this with the remaining dough.
  • Bake for 10 minutes at 350°F.
  • While the pretzels bake, beat the 1 remaining egg and add 1 tsp of water.
  • After the 10 minutes have passed, remove the pretzels from the oven and turn the oven to 400°F
  • Carefully flip your pretzels and brush the egg and water mixture over them, then sprinkle with salt.
  • Bake for another 5 minutes

Serving Size: 1 pretzel
Calories: 320
Fat: 26g
Net Carbs: 6g
Protein: 13g

As for the soup:

Cheddar & Sausage Beer Soup

Yield: 6 – 1 cup servings

14 oz. Smoked Sausage
32 oz. Beef Broth
12 oz. Gluten Free Beer
1 Can sliced Carrot
1 Cup chopped Celery
1 Small chopped Onion
4 Cloves minced Garlic
1 tsp Red Pepper Flakes
1 tsp Salt
½ tsp Black Pepper
1 Cup Heavy Cream
8 oz. Cream Cheese
2 Cups Shredded Sharp Cheddar Cheese

Directions:

In a stock pot add beef stock, beer, celery, onion, garlic, sausage, carrot, red pepper flakes, salt, and pepper. Bring to a boil and then reduce to a simmer for about 15 minutes. Add heavy cream and cream cheese. Stir until all of the cream cheese clumps are gone. Next, add the cheddar cheese and stir until it is completely melted. Simmer for another 20 minutes.

Serving Size – 1 Cup
Calories: 250
Net Carbs: 4g
Fat: 17g
Protein: 5g

So starting tomorrow I will officially go completely gluten free as an experiment. I have been partially gluten free for about a month, but due to my birthday I did cheat with birthday cake, beer, and a few birthday dinners. So now that the birthday festivities have passed, I will go 100% gluten free for 3 weeks, then have 1 day of eating gluten filled foods to see if I have a reaction. If I have a reaction then I will revert to a gluten free lifestyle. I have heard so many success stories with going gluten free and I am ready to see if I will also be successful. Since learning that 90% of people with thyroid disease have gluten intolerance, but are unaware, I have done oodles of research on the topic. Over the past year my hypothyroid side effects have made themselves known regardless of being on medication and I am ready to get back to feeling like my old self and hopefully a gluten free diet will help to get me there. Wish me luck! I am definitely going to need it!

I also plan to continue weightlifting. Even though I failed to take a decent “before” photo, here is where I am 2 months in.

IMG_20150301_201013(1)

I did not realize how much progress I was making until my husband walks in one day, tells me to flex, and says “damn!” That remark was a huge boost of confidence!  Forgive me for not looking my best, this was taken after a workout.

Leave a Reply

