Cream Cheese Pancakes (Keto/Low Carb & Gluten Free)

IMG_20150201_112652Cream Cheese Pancakes

Makes Four 6-inch pancakes

Ingredients

  • 2 oz cream cheese
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp stevia
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Instructions

  • Add all of your ingredients to a blender, I personally used my magic bullet. Mix everything until smooth, it will be runny compared to normal pancake mix, but that is ok. It is best to let the mix sit for a few so most of the bubbles created in the blender can settle.
  • Now all you need to do is pour the mix onto a hot pan. I would suggest that you keep the pancakes fairly small, they will be thin and can be hard to flip. Also, they cook quickly, only a couple of flips and they are ready to eat.
  • Serve with sugar free syrup.

Nutrition in entire recipe (not including syrup):
Calories 370
Total Fat 29.8g
Cholesterol 486mg
Sodium 309mg
Potassium 214mg
Total Carbohydrate 4g
Dietary Fiber 1.2g
Sugars 0.93g
Protein 16.95g


So my husband and I have been weight lifting for over a month now and we are addicted. We feel amazing, have had a great boost of confidence, and have started to see results. About a week ago we started a ketogenic diet and my husband has done an amazing job at educating me on what this diet consists of. However, while my husband is aiming to lose weight, I am aiming to maintain my weight and gain muscle. As you can see this poses a bit of problem. After one week on the keto diet my husband has lost 7lbs, and I have lost 5lbs.

I have been living with hypothyroidism for 10 years and losing weight has never been easy for me. 4 years ago I was 140lbs and I did not reach 130lbs until this past year. Granted, I did have months of not working out and no control whatsoever over my diet. But once I started cracking down on working out I chose cardio as my favorite thing to do. I changed my diet by simply cutting corners wherever I could such as choosing complex carbs over simple carbs, not drinking soda, no sugar or cream in my coffee, and portion size. I then walked 5miles every day for months and it took me about a year to lose 5 measly pounds and keep it off. I live in the Midwest, so as you can guess, winter arrived and sucked away all of my motivation.

My husband started lifting weights and shortly after I started lifting as well. I am big on research so I started reading about the benefits of weight lifting and the consensus is that I will be taking the entire winter off of cardio. A lot of people would be overjoyed with this idea, but I love walking and I love being outside, so when spring arrives I will have to find a balance between walking and lifting.

 Fun Fact: People who weight lift burn more calories while they sleep than those who do not.

Another Fun Fact: When someone tells you that you can eat whatever you want when you work out…ignore them and walk away! You must have a proper diet to reap the benefits of working out. Working out will simply help you to somewhat maintain your current weight.

Starting the keto diet has made me more aware of what I am putting in my body. Just because the word diet, light, or fat free is on the label does not mean that it is good for you. Read your labels.  Also beware of what aspartame can do to your body (I strongly suggest looking this up if you do not know). Stevia is the safest way to go when using a sugar substitute!

 A few things that I have learned about the keto diet so far:

  • Do not be afraid of fat. You are removing carbs from your diet, so you need to add fat as a replacement.
  • To follow a keto diet you should have less than 50g of carbs per day. Your macros should be as follows: 30% Protein, 65% Fat, 5% Carbs. There are plenty of keto calculators online and a few apps available to help you find the grams per day recommended for your body weight and fitness goals.
  • To fight what is called “keto-flu” you need to make sure you are getting enough sodium and potassium every day. The amounts vary by body weight and if you have any medical conditions so I will not put a recommended amount. You should also add Magnesium Citrate and Fish Oil supplements. “Keto-flu” consists of headaches, fatigue, and dizziness.
Leave a Reply

